Josiah Henson Park is located on the historic Isaac Riley Farm in North Bethesda where the Reverend Josiah Henson lived and worked as a slave from 1795 to 1830. This park is a historic resource of local, state, national and international significance because of its association with Reverend Henson, whose 1849 autobiography, The Life of Josiah Henson, Formerly a Slave, inspired Harriet Beecher Stowe’s landmark novel, Uncle Tom’s Cabin.
For the past five years, AXIS Research Inc., a registered non-profit organization, has been involved in the excavation and documentation of the Fort Shirley Site, located in Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania. Fieldwork has been conducted in conjunction with the Penn State University Archaeology Field School and has involved over 70 students and researchers. This archaeological site is significant to documenting early colonial life during the French and Indian War (or the larger conflict known as the Seven Years’ War), as well as the unique relationship between the provincial government of the Commonwealth with Native Americans from the Ohio Valley.
For the past three decades, archaeologists from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst have been conducting extensive archaeological investigations at the W.E.B. Du Bois Boyhood Homesite in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. This was once the home of William Edward Burghardt (W.E.B.) Du Bois, one of the 20th century’s leading African-American scholars who challenged the institutionalized racism of the Jim Crow era.
On the eve of its 350th anniversary, the present day cemetery of St. Francis Xavier in Maryland, reveals new details of a long-gone Jesuit chapel. Father Brian Sanderfoot, pastor of St. Francis Xavier in Maryland, authorized several phases of investigation at St. Francis Xavier Cemetery to map the cemetery and its many grave markers and to conduct limited archaeological testing. One of the most exciting outcomes of this work is the identification of the site of the 1662-1704 Jesuit chapel.
The Laboratory is based on the campus of Virginia Commonwealth University in the School of World Studies building, which is located on Shafer Street in Richmond, Virginia. The initial function of the VCL was to test the capabilities and limitations of the NextEngine Desktop 3D scanner on archaeological objects for our initial DoD Legacy Program funded project. For that DoD Legacy Program project, we either borrowed collections from regional repositories, or we took our portable scanner to various museums, collections repositories, or heritage locations to scan objects to fragile or too unique to loan. These places included the Fort Lee Regional Curation Facility, The State Museum of Pennsylvania, the Virginia Museum of Natural History, Mount Vernon, Jamestown, Poplar Forest, Montpelier, Colonial Williamsburg, and George Washington’s Ferry Farm. When that project ended, we continued working with these heritage locations and collections repositories to scan artifacts that would help meet their collections and research needs, and to create original research opportunities.